DS Tutorial 2

My second tutorial went well. I love working with Evernote to create my dissertation. Even for my tutorials it comes in handy. I can send the link to the different notes I’ve created to my supervisor, for him to have a look, he could even write his notes on the text in the same document. Apart from collecting all pdf’s and other data in the Evernote platform, the document creation option is just great for the purposes of my dissertation. Playing around with the creation date enables great flexibility to sort my notes in a logical way (to me at least). Tagging them for future reference and placing them in different stacks also helps to keep things organized and easy to retrieve. I really recommend Evernote for any type of work you might have concerning information aggregation, curation and creation.

During this tutorial we talked about my literature review so far, which will need some more work, but the basic framework is definitely there. Professor Guy Merchant was pleased with my progress so far. Then we talked about the survey and interviews I conducted. In the survey I focussed on the ‘what’, where my interview was designed to answer the ‘why’.  The survey thought me that a lot of participants said to working with technology in the classroom, be it in very small ways. In their personal context people tend to use the ‘obvious’ services out there (Facebook, Instagram, etc.), the same level of determination was missing the professional context, I found. During the interviews this was one of the things I tried to find out. Time constraints were one of the most named problems affecting the implementation of more elaborate tools/services. I’ve discussed this with prof. Merchant. He mentioned that true innovators do find the time to experiment. He suggested to think about possible reasons why most people find it difficult to coop with that. He also suggested the ‘researcher effect’, meaning that during the survey, people might tend to answer in ways that are not necessarily true. Not meaning that they have lied, but people tend to answer the ‘desired outcome’.

After a few questions about lay-out and the different parts of my dissertation, prof. Merchant also suggested to look a bit into Schatzky. He talks about schools being a mesh of different practices, which could prove beneficial in my data analysis.

For now, I’ll be writing my first draft of the dissertation. After the final remarks and suggestions by my supervisor, I’ll be on route to delivering my final text. Looking forward to that. What a journey it has been!

Leave a Reply

